hippieonthegrid

Simple, Logical, Natural Living

Being Thankful August 19, 2012

I haven’t posted in a little while. Usually when I think about posting I’m thinking of something I’m attempting in the kitchen, how my garden is doing, or some book I’m reading that I’m really into. This past week felt like a month though. My family had terrible news that we lost a young family member and even worse, to violence. Violence doesn’t happen in our family, illness and accidents do, but violence? No. So it’s been a tough week with circumstances ridiculously difficult to fathom. But I’ve learned a lot, I realize I take so much for granted, forgetting that for some, tomorrow just might not come. It sounds sad, it is sad, but then there’s the other side of it. My cousin is in heaven and doesn’t need to worry about all the silly stuff we worry about here. He’s taught me a lot this week. First, that even in death you can give life: my cousin’s organs immediately went to several people waiting for more time with their family. He also taught me that sometimes we are so caught up in worry about silly things that we forget to be thankful for what we do have. I woke up this morning for the first time in a week feeling ok, even a little happy because we learned justice will be served. But, most of all, I took a few minutes to enjoy things I sometimes let pass me by as mundane: how the room was just a tad chilly but under the covers was perfect. I relished the warm, precious dog who curled up next to me and looked at me like I am the best person in the world. I took in every moment of comfort and happiness I feel having my loving, doting, protective husband sleeping by my side. So I guess today’s post is a public service announcement of sorts: don’t sweat the small things that really don’t matter and remember to enjoy the small stuff that means everything.

 

5 Responses to “Being Thankful”

  1. That is a good reminder, though a very sad one. I’m sorry for your family’s loss.

  2. Sorry for your loss. Life is so fragile and this post is a great reminder to cherish the moments…even the small moments.

  3. Bella Says:

    Lady, I am so so sorry for your loss. My family and I recently experienced the loss of a family member and I can tell you that circumstances like these do give one a new perspective. Your post has illustrated how life is indeed fragile and how we should value the things that really matter. Thank you for the reminder.


Leave a Reply

