hippieonthegrid

Simple, Logical, Natural Living

Watch my Garden Grow June 23, 2012

This is one of my favorite times of the year, when the garden starts showing off – getting buds, flowers, and fruits. Just looking at it gives me a sense of accomplishment. I know that in a short time I will have more produce then I can handle and I’ll break out the pressure canner. I cannot express enough the difference between food you grow on your own and what you buy in the supermarket. Did you know that celery actually has flavor and peppers aren’t bitter? Even more, growing your own food gives you a level of control over what goes into your body. I know what I use in and on my garden. I know how fresh the produce is because I am the one who picked it. This year, we extended the garden again and planted more than last year. This year’s offerings:

  • Radishes
  • Red onions
  • Carrots
  • Celery
  • Swiss Chard
  • 3 Types of Tomatoes
  • Green Peppers
  • Jalapeno Peppers
  • Green Beans
  • Potatoes
  • Zucchini
  • Straightneck Squash
  • Cucumber
  • Honeydew
  • Eggplant
  • Strawberries
 

Leave a Reply

